Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Dr. Allan Tucker Receives Service Award

Dr. Allan Tucker, Louis Lenoir Locke professor and chair of pathology at the University of South Alabama College of Medicine, recently was selected to receive the 2015 Distinguished Service Award sponsored by the Association of Pathology Chairs.

This honor recognizes lifetime achievements in the field of academic pathology that includes accomplishments in all academic missions, medical education, research and clinical service. Recipients of this award include many of the association’s most coveted mentors and historical leaders.

Dr. Tucker has served on the board of directors and as treasurer for the American Registry of Pathology. He has been an influential member of the American Medical Association/Specialty Society Resource-Based Relative Value Scale Update Committee (RUC) and served as a member of the Economic Affairs Committee of the College of American Pathologists (CAP). Dr. Tucker has served as a member of the RUC workgroup and the Graduate Medical Education Committee of the CAP, and has served as treasurer of the International Academy of Pathology and as treasure and president of the Society for Ultrastructural Pathology. In addition, he has played a pivotal role in the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology, including being elected to the position of vice president. Dr. Tucker has served as an active member of the Association of Pathology Chairs, including as a member of the Executive Council, and most recently as secretary/treasurer.

During his time at USA, Dr. Tucker has served as co-director of anatomic pathology. He served the USA community as chairman of the USA Admission Committee, a member of the USA Medical Center Executive Committee, the University Fringe Benefits Committee and the USA Curriculum Committee. Additionally, Dr. Tucker serves as president of the Health Services Foundation board and chair of the USA Housestaff committee.

Dr. Tucker earned his medical degree at Vanderbilt School of Medicine and completed both his residency and fellowship at Duke University. He joined the USA College of Medicine team in 1991.

No comments:

Post a Comment