Friday, March 22, 2019

Annual Medical Alumni Weekend set for June 7-9

The University of South Alabama Medical Alumni Association will host its annual Medical Alumni Weekend June 7-9, at the Pensacola Beach Hilton in Pensacola, Fla. All alumni and their family members are invited to attend.

The event is a multi-day class reunion held every summer that reunites USA medical graduates on the Gulf Coast. It offers Continuing Medical Education (CME) accredited courses and an alumni dinner sponsored by the association. The classes of 1979, 1984, 1989, 1994, 1999, 2004, 2009 and 2014 will be honored at this year’s event.

For the full schedule of events and to register online, visit the EventBrite page.

For additional information, contact the Medical Alumni Office at (251) 460-6805 or

Register Now: Sickle Cell Regional Conference

The University of South Alabama Comprehensive Sickle Cell Center will host the Sickle Cell Regional Conference, "Sickle Cell Disease Practical Issues XVII: New & Emerging Therapies & Approaches to Management." This one-day conference will be held from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Saturday, May 18, at the USA Student Center Terrace.

The event will provide up-to-date information on treatment and management of sickle cell disease.

Register online at http// For more information on the conference visit Email or call (251) 470-5893.

Thursday, March 21, 2019

Register Now: USA Neuroscience Symposium 2019

The sixth annual USA Neuroscience Symposium is set for March 29-31, 2019, at the Pensacola Beach Hilton.

The program provides an update on important topics in neurology, and addresses clinical competencies of knowledge, performance, and improving patient outcomes. Topics include Parkinson's disease, seizures, stroke and multiple sclerosis.

Dr. Steve Cordina, associate professor of neurology at the University of South Alabama College of Medicine, will serve as the course director.

Guest faculty speakers include Dr. Jay Mohr, Daniel Sciarra Professor of Neurology at Columbia University Medical Center, and Dr. Steven Dekosky, Aerts-Cosper Professor of Alzheimer's Research at the University of Florida, Gainsville.

USA faculty speakers include Drs. Bassam Bassam, Elias Chalhub, Daniel Dees, Ninh Doan, William Kilgo, Robert Kobelja, Anthony Martino, Elizabeth Minto, Dean Naritoku, Juan Ochoa and Rebecca Sugg.

For more information and to register, click here.

USA Health Office of Development - New staff, new roles

The USA Health Office of Development has recently promoted two employees and added a new staff member that will help engage community and business leaders and grateful patients to advance the mission and health care services provided by USA Health.

Leila Nichols
Leila Nichols has been promoted to director of medical affairs and alumni relations. Nichols joined the department in 2018 and has played a key role in obtaining major gifts and sponsorship support for USA Health along with developing relationships with internal and external donors.

Nancy Calhoun
Nancy Calhoun has been promoted to development officer for USA Health Children’s & Women’s Hospital and USA Health Initiatives. Calhoun has worked as The Children’s Miracle Network manager at Children’s & Women’s for the past six years. Calhoun has also worked with CMN hospital partners to build and grow relationships within the community.

“I am thrilled to promote two internal candidates with a proven track record of success,” said Kelly McCarron, USA Health vice president for development and alumni relations. “We have a tremendous opportunity to more effectively share our story and expand our philanthropic base.”

Brittany Callaway
Brittany Callaway has joined the staff as associate director with USA Health. Callaway brings valuable experience with cultivating relationships with hospital leaders. Her role will focus on major gift fundraising for USA Health Mitchell Cancer Institute and the Grateful Patient Program for USA Health.

Cheryl Woodruff named March Employee of the Month

Terry O'Neil, director of operations for neurosciences, right, presents Cheryl Woodruff, charge capture specialist, with the Employee of the Month Award.
Cheryl Woodruff, charge capture specialist in the department of neurosciences, received the USA Health Physicians Group Employee of the Month Award for March.

Woodruff has worked at USA Health for six years and in the neurosciences department for the past eight months. As the charge capture specialist, she monitors billing charges, co-payments and referrals and ensures all charges are captured accurately.

The department has recently been short-handed, and Woodruff took on additional front office duties to assist with the staffing shortage.

"I nominated Cheryl for this award not just for stepping up when we needed it but also for her teamwork and leadership she showed while being in the front office," said Terry O'Neil, director of operations for neurosciences. "Not once did Cheryl complain that her work was getting behind; instead she embraced the opportunity to serve the patients, co-workers and physicians of neuroscience, exhibiting best practice skills throughout her time in that area of the clinic."

O'Neil added, "Cheryl is kind, compassionate and an all-around nice person. Cheryl is a pleasure to lead, and we are lucky to have her on our team."

The USA Health Physicians Group Employee of the Month Award recognizes employees who exhibit exceptional customer service, compassionate patient care, teamwork, and a willingness to go above and beyond their professional duties. To nominate an employee, fill out the USA Health Physicians Group Employee of the Month Nomination Form.